Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Dear DNC Member,



Hope you are having a great night. Please find below an additional update from Muthoni and our DNC Political Team. 
 As always, if you have any questions, please reach out to my office. 

Yours, 
Jason
––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
Jason Rae
Secretary
Democratic National Committee
 
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Good Evening  -
As many of you are following, polls have closed in Alabama, Maine, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Virginia, Vermont, and parts of Texas. We have heard positive reports from Democrats in these states that are voting on the largest voting day in the presidential primary.  Some great take aways below.

Polls are still open in Arkansas, Colorado, Minnesota, Tennessee and Utah. See below for closing times. 
  • Polls closing at 8:30pm EST/7:30pm CST: Arkansas 
  • Polls closing at 9:00pm EST/8:00pm CST/7:00pm MST: Colorado, Minnesota
  • Polls closing at 9:00pm EST/8:00pm CST; 10:00pm in some places: Tennessee
  • Polls closing at 10:00pm EST/8:00pm MST: Utah
  • Polls closing at 11:00pm EST/8:00pm PST: California
Tennessee Update
Our thoughts are with the people of Middle Tennessee today. Thanks to the swift work of vested Democrats, a Davidson County judge ruled that most polls will remain open until 8 p.m. CT. The ruling came at the request of the Tennessee Democratic Party and four of the Democratic presidential campaigns amid heavy tornado damage throughout the city. Polls were originally set to close at 7 p.m. CT. “This is a victory for all voters and this decision will ensure that everyone has the opportunity to participate in this historic election” said Mary Mancini, TNDP Chair. All Davidson County polling locations will remain open until 8:00PM. In addition, the following mega polling sites will stay open until 10:00PM.
  • Pearl Cohn High School
  • Donelson Presbyterian
  • Cleveland Park Community Center
  • Howard School Office Building
  • Davidson County Election Commission Office
Democratic Enthusiasm!!!
Our party is energized like never before and reforms to the nominating process are helping to increase participation. Across the country, people are turning out to vote for Democrats and mobilizing to defeat Donald Trump.
  • Health care is on the ballot: health care was the most important issue to Democratic primary voters in Maine and Massachusetts, according to early exit polling from CNN.
 
  • Democrats are united: 84% say they will vote for the eventual Democratic nominee whoever it is.  Repeat: 84% say they will vote for the eventual Democratic nominee whoever it is, according to ABC News exit polling in 12 Super Tuesday states.
     
  • High turnout in new primary states such as Maine, Colorado, and Minnesota. 
    • Bangor Daily News: “Maine poised to beat turnout projections in Tuesday’s presidential primary”
    • Portland Press Herald: “Turnout appears high as Mainers cast votes in presidential primary”
    • In Minnesota, after switching to a presidential primary, 82,000 Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party absentee ballots were requested, compared to roughly 12,000 Republican ballots.
       
  • High African American turnout: particularly in Alabama (44%), North Carolina (27%), Virginia (27%) and Tennessee (26%).
  • High LGBTQ turnout: One out of every 10 voters identified as LGBTQ+, according to NBC News exit polling in 12 Super Tuesday states.
     
  • In Texas, more than one million Texas Democrats voted early, surpassing 2016 early-vote returns. According to the Texas Democratic Party, in the 15 most populous counties over 200,000 more Democrats have voted than Republicans.
     
  • In North Carolina, over 500,000 Democrats voted early, breaking 2008 records and representing 125% of 2016 turnout, according to the North Carolina Democratic Party.

IWillVote.com--REMEMBER PEOPLE ARE STILL VOTING ACROSS THE COUNTRY

Please continue to share IWillVote.com to help folks find their polling place or caucus site as voters are still voting across the country. So far today, the website has seen almost 100 times its average number of lookups!  Family, I know you’re at work!!
 
Voter Protection

Our Voter Protection Hotline is up and running if anyone has any questions, concerns, or issues while casting your ballot. Give us a call at 833-336-VOTE (8683).

A Moment In Turn-out Goodness
 
Tulalip Tribes (WA State) holding their ballot party today for Super Tuesday, called the “Rez-to-Rez” Voter Registration Tour. The GOTV tour is going to all 29 tribes in the NW ahead of the elections. 

States that are still voting?

California 
Polls close at 8:00 P.M. PT.  The California primary is a “modified closed primary system,” allowing registered Democrats and undeclared voters only to cast votes.  Because of the large volume of voting by mail in the nation’s largest state, it could take several weeks for all of California’s votes to be counted.

Colorado
In-person voting will close at 7:00 P.M. MT. Voters were mailed ballots on February 10 and were advised to drop completed ballots in the mail no later than February 24. The Colorado primary is “semi-closed,” meaning Democrats and undeclared voters only may cast votes in this contest. As Colorado law requires county clerks to wait until nine days after the election before determining they have all the ballots in hand, full results may not be available for weeks. 

Utah
Polls close at 8:00 P.M. MT.  The Utah primary is open, meaning voters of any political affiliation may cast votes. Place close attention to Salt Lake County 70-80% of Democrats live in this region. 

Warmly,
Muthoni 
  • No labels